Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Better Liar

Audiobook
"Smart, sinister, and utterly engrossing—this debut delivers."—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever
When a woman conceals her sister's death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins.


NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 BY Entertainment Weekly New York Post Lit Hub Crime ReadsE! NewsBookRiotPopSugar Hello GIggles
"Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered."
Robin Voigt is dead. If Leslie had arrived at her sister's cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: She and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together—or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately.
When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin—and has every reason to leave her past behind—the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will become when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both.
An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours?
Praise for The Better Liar
"Jones' sensational debut has the bones of a thriller but reads like literary fiction: lean, shrewd, and gratifyingly real."Entertainment Weekly

"Jones's debut novel is clever, absorbing, and full of red herrings. . . . A stunning twist ending will leave readers waiting to see what Jones will give them next."Booklist (starred review)

Expand title description text
Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780593147672
  • File size: 309330 KB
  • Release date: January 14, 2020
  • Duration: 10:44:26

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780593147672
  • File size: 309362 KB
  • Release date: January 14, 2020
  • Duration: 10:49:26
  • Number of parts: 9

Loading
Loading

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

Languages

English

"Smart, sinister, and utterly engrossing—this debut delivers."—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever
When a woman conceals her sister's death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins.


NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 BY Entertainment Weekly New York Post Lit Hub Crime ReadsE! NewsBookRiotPopSugar Hello GIggles
"Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered."
Robin Voigt is dead. If Leslie had arrived at her sister's cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: She and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together—or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately.
When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin—and has every reason to leave her past behind—the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will become when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both.
An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours?
Praise for The Better Liar
"Jones' sensational debut has the bones of a thriller but reads like literary fiction: lean, shrewd, and gratifyingly real."Entertainment Weekly

"Jones's debut novel is clever, absorbing, and full of red herrings. . . . A stunning twist ending will leave readers waiting to see what Jones will give them next."Booklist (starred review)

Expand title description text
Utah's Online Library is a program of the Utah State Library Division.Funds for this program were made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.